Aryabhatta College, University of Delhi



WEBINAR ON 'DISPARITY OF WOMEN IN THE WORKFORCE'

Convener: Dr. JK Singh Coordinator: Dr. Pritika Dua

The Startup Club, Aryabhatta College participated in a webinar organised by AIESEC in Delhi IIT on 'Disparity of women in workspace' with THE VEDICA SCHOLARS PROGRAMME FOR WOMEN on 18th February 2021, 4:00 PM IST.

Throughout this interactive session the speaker, Mr. Karan Tuli , Senior Manager Marketing and Admissions, made sure that it brings out everyone's opinions on the front and specially what males have to think about inequality in terms of opportunities and encouragement of women in academics and professional front.

He introduced the Vedica Scholars Programme and how it aims at finding and empowering women which is an 18-month programme that aims at providing all round excellence to graduate women in developing and enhancing skills for seeking jobs and getting empowered.

The session then headed to discussion on workplace issues of a women on 'why there are lesser ratios of women at workplace or why they leave workplaces earlier'. The audience then also came across a disheartening fact that there are only 3 female CEO's per 100 CEO'S in India. The interaction among speaker and audience concluded that due to family responsibilities and our orthodox society women are not able to cherish their freedom and individuality and hence they are not able to become independent. The speaker further discussed how their programme is trying to resolve such issues and creating better opportunities for women and, its high time that everyone comes forward with their part of contribution on the same.

The session then ended with everyone in the audience thanking the speaker for the very informative and illuminating session and sealed with a promise of spreading awareness for women empowerment. All in all it was a great experience.

Webinar Attendees from The Startup Club:-

Manvi Sharma	Aditya Jain
Vidhi Vashisth	Supriyo Das
Parth Khattar	Daksh Mehra
Marvi Arora	Sparsh Goel
Ajitesh Rai	Nipun Rana
Arya Sahai	Jatin
Shreya Singh	Ritwik Chawla
Yatharth Yadav	Praveen kumar
Yashraj Keshari	Ipsa Ahuja



